British Prime Minister Boris Johnson banned from entering Russia

A prime minister expelled from Russian territory. Moscow announced on Saturday April 16 that Britain’s Boris Johnson, as well as a dozen top officials and ministers in his government, would now be banned from entering Russian territory.

“This step was taken in response to the rampant political and media campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally and creating the right conditions to control our country and strangle the economy.” national, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement. The latter thus denounces the “unprecedented hostile actions” of London, in particular the sanctions against senior Russian officials. “The British government is deliberately trying to escalate the situation around Ukraine by supplying lethal weapons to the regime in kyiv and coordinating similar efforts on behalf of NATO.”adds the ministry.

Also read: War in Ukraine Live: Fate of Ukrainian Soldiers in Mariupol Worries kyiv; Russian bombing continues

Great military and financial aid to Ukraine

Johnson had traveled to kyiv on April 9 to meet with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky and ” to show [le] unwavering support [du Royaume-Uni] to the Ukrainian people”I had tweeted the head of the British government after his meeting with Mr. Zelensky. waving “the greatest feat of arms of the 21st centuryme century “the prime minister announced military aid including 120 armored vehicles and new anti-ship missile systems.

This aid is added to that announced the day before by the United Kingdom, which includes Starstreak anti-aircraft missiles and 800 anti-tank missiles, as well as drones for “precision hits” against the Russian army. Even though more than $10 billion in aid has been raised for Ukraine in an international campaign, Johnson has also pledged another $500 million in financial aid through the World Bank.

“Today I have made it clear that the UK stands firmly with them in this ongoing fight, and we will remain so for the long term.”Mr. Johnson also said. Support reaffirmed on Saturday by the British government spokesman, in response to Moscow’s decision:

“The UK and our international partners are united in condemning the Russian government’s reprehensible actions in Ukraine and calling on the Kremlin to end the war. We remain determined in our support for Ukraine. »

Also read: Article reserved for our subscribers War in Ukraine: “UK is determined to provide Ukrainians with what they need”

Along with the prime minister, Moscow’s blacklist also includes Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Minister Ben Wallace, former First Minister Theresa May and Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon.

The world with AFP

Leave a Comment